Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences

For the year ending March 31, 2017

As required by the Treasury Board Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures, this report provides information on the annual expenditures for each of travel, hospitality and conference fees for FINTRAC for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2017. It also provides the variance explanations from the previous fiscal year in each of these areas.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conference fees incurred by federal departments and agencies are related to activities that support a departmental or agency mandate and the government’s priorities.

In particular, for FINTRAC, this includes facilitating the detection, prevention and deterrence of money laundering, terrorist activity financing and other threats to the security of Canada. The Centre also undertakes activities to ensure compliance by reporting entities with their obligations under Part 1 of the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act.

Internationally, FINTRAC is part of the Egmont Group, an international network of financial intelligence units that collaborate and exchange information to combat money laundering and terrorist activity financing. In addition, FINTRAC must attend frequent meetings of the Financial Action Task Force (FATF) and also regularly provides technical assistance training to counterpart Financial Intelligence Units.

Further information on the mandate, roles, responsibilities and program of FINTRAC can be found in FINTRAC’s Departmental Plan.

FINTRAC’s total annual expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences are summarized below:

Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences of FINTRAC
(in thousands of dollars)
Expenditure Category Expenditures for the Year Ending March 31, 2017
(a)
Expenditures for the Previous Year Ending March 31, 2016
(b)
Change
(a – b)
Travel: Public Servants $1,013 $1,005 $8
Travel: Non-Public Servants $2 $5 -$3
Total Travel $1,015 $1,010 $5
Hospitality $29 $24 $5
Conference Fees $41 $62 -$21
TOTAL $1,085 $1,096 -$11
International Travel by Minister and Minister’s Staff (also included in Non-Public Servant travel) N/A N/A N/A
 

Significant Variances Compared With the Previous Fiscal Year

There are no significant variances between 2015–16 travel, hospitality and conference expenditures and 2016–17 travel, hospitality and conference expenditures.

Date Modified:

Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences

Pour la période se terminant le 31 mars 2017

Comme l’exige la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil, de conférences et d’événements du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit de l’information sur les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences de CANAFE pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017. Il donne également une explication des écarts par rapport à l’exercice précédent dans chacune de ces catégories.

Ces données sont mises à jour chaque année et ne comportent aucun renseignement non divulgué en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et les organismes fédéraux sont liées à des activités à l’appui du mandat du ministère ou de l’organisme et des priorités gouvernementales.

En particulier, dans le cas de CANAFE, elles visent à faciliter la détection, la prévention et la dissuasion en matière de blanchiment d’argent, de financement des activités terroristes et d’autres menaces pour la sécurité du Canada. Le Centre entreprend aussi des activités pour veiller à ce que les entités déclarantes respectent leurs obligations en vertu de la partie 1 de la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes.

À l’échelle internationale, CANAFE fait partie du Groupe Egmont, un réseau international d’unités du renseignement financier (URF) qui travaillent en collaboration et échangent des renseignements afin de lutter contre le blanchiment d’argent et le financement des activités terroristes. De plus, CANAFE doit assister fréquemment à des réunions du Groupe d’action financière (GAFI) et donne aussi régulièrement de la formation technique à d’autres unités du renseignement financier.

D’autres informations sur le mandat, le rôle, les responsabilités et le programme de CANAFE sont publiées dans le plan ministériel de CANAFE.

Voici un résumé des dépenses annuelles totales de CANAFE consacrées aux voyages, à l’accueil et aux conférences :

Dépenses annuelles de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences de CANAFE
(en milliers de dollars)
Catégorie de dépenses Dépenses pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017
(a)
Dépenses pour l’exercice précédent se terminant le 31 mars 2016
(b)
Écart
(a – b)
Voyages – Fonctionnaires 1 013 $ 1 005 $ 8 $
Voyages – Non-fonctionnaires 2 $ 5 $ -3 $
Total des dépenses de voyage 1 015 $ 1 010 $ 5 $
Accueil 29 $ 24 $ 5 $
Frais de participation aux conférences 41 $ 62 $ -21 $
TOTAL 1 085 $ 1 096 $ -11 $
Voyages internationaux du ministre et du personnel du ministre (également inclus dans les voyages des non-fonctionnaires) s. o. s. o. s. o.
 

Écarts importants par rapport à l’exercice précédent

Il n’y a aucun écart important entre les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences engagées en 2015-2016 et les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil et de conférences engagées en 2016-2017.

Date de modification :