Future-Oriented Statement of Operations of the
Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC)

Unaudited

For the Year Ended March 31

Future-Oriented Statement of Operations For the Year 2017–2018 (PDF version, 91 KB)


Future-Oriented Statement of Operations For the Year 2017–2018
  Forecast Results
2016–17

(In thousands of dollars)
Planned Results
2017–18

(In thousands of dollars)
Expenses
Financial Intelligence Program 25,359 24,704
Compliance Program 20,536 22,594
Internal Services 6,764 7,774
Total expenses 52,659 55,071
Revenues
Compliance Program 93 0
Revenues earned on behalf of Government (93) 0
Total revenues 0 0
Net cost of operations before government funding and transfersFootnote 1 52,659 55,071

The accompanying notes form an integral part of this Future-Oriented Statement of Operations.


1. Methodology and Significant Assumptions

The future-oriented statement of operations has been prepared on the basis of the government priorities and the plans of FINTRAC as described in the Departmental Plan.

The main assumptions underlying the forecasts are as follows:

  1. The activities of FINTRAC will remain substantially the same as in the previous year.
  2. Expenses and revenues, including the determination of amounts internal and external to the government, are based on historical experience. The general historical pattern is expected to continue.
  3. Forecast results of 2016–17 year end information are used as the opening position for the 2017‒18 planned results.

These assumptions are adopted as at December 13, 2016.

2. Variations and Changes to the Forecast Financial Information

While every attempt has been made to forecast final results for the remainder of 2016–17 and for 2017–18, actual results achieved for both years are likely to vary from the forecast information presented, and this variation could be material.

In preparing this future-oriented statement of operations, FINTRAC has made estimates and assumptions concerning the future. These estimates and assumptions may differ from the subsequent actual results. Estimates and assumptions are continually evaluated and are based on historical experience and other factors, including expectations of future events that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances.

Factors that could lead to material differences between the future-oriented statement of operations and the historical statement of operations include:

Once the Departmental Plan is presented, FINTRAC will not be updating the forecasts for any changes in financial resources made in ensuing supplementary estimates. Variances will be explained in the Departmental Results Report.

3. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

The future-oriented statement of operations has been prepared using Government’s accounting policies that are in effect for the 2016–17 fiscal year which are based on Canadian public sector accounting standards. The presentation and results using the stated accounting policies do not result in any significant differences from Canadian public sector accounting standards.

Significant accounting policies are as follows:

a) Expenses

Expenses are recorded on an accrual basis. Expenses for FINTRAC’s operations are recorded when goods are received or services are rendered, including services provided without charges for employee contributions to health and dental insurance plans and workers’ compensation, which are recorded as expenses at their estimated cost. Vacation pay and compensatory leave, as well as severance benefits, are accrued and expenses are recorded as the benefits are earned by employees under their terms of employment.

Expenses also include provisions to reflect changes in the value of assets, including provisions for bad debt on accounts receivable or liabilities, including contingent liabilities to the extent the future event is likely to occur and a reasonable estimate can be made.

Expenses also include amortization of tangible capital assets, which are capitalized at their acquisition cost. Amortization of tangible capital assets is done on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the asset.

b) Revenues

Since December 30, 2008, FINTRAC has had the legislative authority to issue administrative monetary penalties (AMPs) to reporting entities that are in non-compliance with Canada’s Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act (PCMLTFA). Accordingly, results commencing in the 2009‒10 fiscal year indicate the AMPs as a source of non-respendable revenue.

Revenues that are non-respendable are not available to discharge FINTRAC’s liabilities. While the Deputy Head is expected to maintain accounting control, he or she has no authority regarding the disposition of non-respendable revenues. As a result, non-respendable revenues are considered to be earned on behalf of the Government of Canada and are therefore presented in reduction of the entity's gross revenues.

4. Parliamentary Authorities

FINTRAC is financed by the Government of Canada through parliamentary authorities. Financial reporting of authorities provided to FINTRAC do not parallel financial reporting according to generally accepted accounting principles since authorities are primarily based on cash flow requirements. Items recognized in the future-oriented statement of operations in one year may be funded through parliamentary authorities in prior, current, or future years. Accordingly, FINTRAC has different net cost of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis.

The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

(a) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to requested authorities

  Forecast Results
2016–17

(In thousands of dollars)
Planned Results
2017–18

(In thousands of dollars)
Net cost of operations before government funding and transfers 52,659 55,071
Adjustments for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities:
Amortization of tangible capital assets (893) (953)
Services provided without charge by other government departments (2,860) (2,927)
Increase (decrease) in vacation pay and compensatory leave (26) 12
Increase (decrease) in employee future benefits 31 85
Refund of previous years' expenditures 102 97
Total items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authoritiesFootnote 1 (3,646) (3,686)
Adjustments for items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities:
Acquisitions of tangible capital assets 7,520 2,463
Increase (decrease) in prepaid expenses 188 (71)
Total items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authoritiesFootnote 1 7,708 2,392
Forecast current year lapse 2,552 0
Requested authorities Footnote 1 59,274 53,778

(b) Authorities requested

  Forecast Results
2016–17

(In thousands of dollars)
Planned Results
2017–18

(In thousands of dollars)
Authorities requested
Vote 1 – Program expenditures 53,533 48,495
Statutory amounts 5,741 5,283
Requested authoritiesFootnote 1 59,274 53,778

Authorities presented reflect current forecasts of statutory items, approved initiatives included and expected to be included in Estimates documents and, when reasonable estimates can be made, estimates of amounts to be allocated from Treasury Board central votes.

Date Modified:

État des résultats prospectif du
Centre d’analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada (CANAFE)

Non vérifié

Pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars

État des résultats prospectif de l'année 2017-2018 (PDF version, 73 KB)


État des résultats prospectif de l'année 2017–2018
  Résultats estimatifs
2016-2017

(en milliers de dollars)
Résultats prévus
2017-2018

(en milliers de dollars)
Charges
Programme du renseignement financier 25 359 24 704
Programme de conformité 20 536 22 594
Services internes 6 764 7 774
Total des charges 52 659 55 071
Revenus
Programme de conformité 93 0
Revenus gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement (93) 0
Total des revenus 0 0
Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement du gouvernement et les transferts.Footnote 1 52 659 55 071

Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante de l’état des résultats prospectif.


1. Méthodologie et hypothèses importantes

L’état des résultats prospectif a été établi en fonction des priorités du gouvernement et des plans de CANAFE qui sont décrits dans le Plan ministériel.

Voici les principales hypothèses qui sous-tendent les prévisions :

  1. les activités de CANAFE demeureront, pour l’essentiel, inchangées par rapport à celles du dernier exercice;
  2. les charges et les revenus, y compris la détermination des montants de sources internes et externes du gouvernement sont basés sur l’expérience acquise, et l’évolution générale connue par le passé devrait se poursuivre;
  3. l’information des résultats estimatifs de fin d’exercice pour 2016-2017 représente la situation d’ouverture pour établir les résultats prévus de 2017-2018.

Ces hypothèses sont adoptées en date du 13 décembre 2016.

2. Variation et évolution des prévisions financières

Même si tous les efforts ont été déployés pour prévoir les résultats finaux pour le reste de l’exercice 2016-2017 et pour 2017-2018, les résultats réels des deux exercices risquent de varier par rapport aux prévisions financières présentées, et cet écart pourrait être important.

Lors de la préparation du présent état des résultats prospectif, CANAFE a établi des prévisions et des hypothèses à l’égard d’événements futurs. Ces prévisions et hypothèses pourraient différer des résultats financiers réels obtenus. Les prévisions et les hypothèses sont évaluées de façon continue et sont fondées sur l’expérience acquise et d’autres facteurs, notamment les prévisions relativement aux événements futurs qui sont considérées comme raisonnables compte tenu des circonstances.

Les facteurs qui pourraient donner lieu à des écarts importants entre l’état des résultats prospectif et les états des résultats antérieurs sont les suivants :

Lorsque le Plan ministériel aura été présenté, CANAFE ne mettra pas à jour les prévisions, quelles que soient les modifications apportées aux ressources financières dans le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses. Les écarts seront expliqués dans le Rapport sur les résultats ministériels.

3. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

L’état des résultats prospectif a été préparé conformément aux conventions comptables du gouvernement en vigueur pour l’exercice 2016-2017 et qui s’appuient sur les principes comptables du secteur public du Canada. La présentation et les résultats qui découlent de l’utilisation des conventions comptables énoncées ne donnent lieu à aucun écart important par rapport aux principes comptables du secteur public du Canada.

Voici les principales conventions comptables :

a) Charges

Les charges sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice. Les charges de fonctionnement de CANAFE sont comptabilisées lorsque les biens sont reçus ou que les services sont rendus, y compris les services fournis gratuitement pour les cotisations aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires des employés et d’indemnisation, lesquels sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif. Les indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires ainsi que les indemnités de départ sont cumulatives et les charges sont comptabilisées au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent les droits en vertu de leurs conditions d’emploi respectives.

Les charges comprennent aussi des provisions afin de tenir compte des changements dans la valeur d’actifs, notamment pour les créances douteuses des comptes débiteurs ou les éléments du passif, ce qui comprend le passif éventuel dans la mesure où l’événement futur risque de se produire et si l’on peut établir une estimation raisonnable de la perte.

Parmi les charges, il y a également l’amortissement des immobilisations corporelles, lesquelles sont comptabilisées à leur coût d’achat. Les immobilisations corporelles sont amorties selon la méthode d’amortissement linéaire en fonction de leur durée de vie utile estimative.

b) Revenus

Depuis le 30 décembre 2008, CANAFE a le pouvoir législatif d’imposer des pénalités administratives pécuniaires (PAP) aux entités déclarantes qui ne respectent pas la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes (la Loi). Depuis l’exercice 2009-2010, le programme des PAP est pour CANAFE une source de revenus non disponibles pour dépenser.

CANAFE ne peut pas se servir des revenus non disponibles pour dépenser pour s’acquitter de ses obligations. Bien que l’on s’attende à ce que l’administrateur général maintienne le contrôle comptable, il n’a aucun pouvoir en ce qui concerne l’utilisation des revenus non disponibles pour dépenser. Par conséquent, ces revenus sont considérés comme étant gagnés pour le compte du gouvernement du Canada et sont donc comptabilisés comme une réduction du montant brut des revenus de CANAFE.

4. Autorisations parlementaires

CANAFE est financé par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen d’autorisations parlementaires. La présentation des autorisations consenties à CANAFE ne correspond pas à la présentation des rapports financiers selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus, car les autorisations sont fondées, dans une large mesure, sur les besoins de trésorerie. Les éléments comptabilisés dans l’état des résultats prospectif d’un exercice donné peuvent être financés au moyen d’autorisations parlementaires qui ont été approuvées au cours d’un exercice antérieur, pendant l’exercice en cours ou qui le seront au cours d’un exercice futur. Par conséquent, le coût de fonctionnement net de CANAFE pour l’exercice diffère selon qu’il est calculé en fonction du financement octroyé par le gouvernement ou selon la méthode de comptabilité d’exercice.

Les différences sont présentées dans les tableaux suivants :

(a) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorisations demandées

  Résultats estimatifs
2016-2017

(en milliers de dollars)
Résultats prévus
2017-2018

(en milliers de dollars)
Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement du gouvernement et les transferts 52 659 55 071
Rajustements pour les éléments ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais n’ayant pas d’incidence sur les autorisations :
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles (893) (953)
Services fournis gratuitement par d’autres ministères (2 860) (2 927)
Augmentation (diminution) des indemnités de vacances et des congés compensatoires (26) 12
Augmentation (diminution) des avantages sociaux futurs 31 85
Remboursement de charges d’exercices antérieurs 102 97
Total des éléments ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement, mais n’ayant aucune incidence sur les autorisationsFootnote 1 (3 646) (3 686)
Rajustements pour les éléments n’ayant pas d’incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais ayant une incidence sur les autorisations :
Acquisitions d’immobilisations corporelles 7 520 2 463
Augmentation (diminution) des charges payées d’avance 188 (71)
Total des éléments n’ayant pas d’incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais ayant une incidence sur les autorisations Footnote 1 7 708 2 392
Ressources inutilisées prévues pour l’exercice 2 552 0
Autorisations demandées Footnote 1 59 274 53 778

(b) Autorisations demandées

  Résultats estimatifs
2016-2017

(en milliers de dollars)
Résultats prévus
2017-2018

(en milliers de dollars)
Autorisations demandées
Crédit 1 – Dépenses de programme 53 533 48 495
Montants législatifs 5 741 5 283
Autorisations demandées Footnote 1 59 274 53 778

Les autorisations présentées correspondent aux résultats prévus en ce qui concerne les postes législatifs, les initiatives approuvées qui sont incluses et qui devraient être incluses dans les documents du Budget des dépenses et, lorsque des prévisions raisonnables peuvent être effectuées, les montants estimatifs des affectations des crédits centraux du Conseil du Trésor.

Date de modification :