Departmental sustainable development strategy

Overview of the federal government’s approach to sustainable development

The 2013–16 Federal Sustainable Development Strategy (FSDS) presents the Government of Canada’s sustainable development activities, as required by the Federal Sustainable Development Act. In keeping with the objectives of the Act to make environmental decision making more transparent and accountable to Parliament, the Financial Transaction and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC) supports the implementation of the FSDS through the activities described in this supplementary information table.

Our departmental sustainable development strategy

This Departmental Sustainable Development Strategy describes FINTRAC’s actions in support of Theme IV: shrinking the environmental footprint, beginning with government. The report for 2016–17 presents a high-level overview of results and is the final report under the 2013–16 FSDS. Last year’s report is available on the departmental website.

Departmental performance highlights

Theme IV: shrinking the environmental footprint, beginning with government

Under Theme IV, FINTRAC contributed to the 2013–16 FSDS through implementation strategies for Goal 7: Waste and Asset Management.

FSDS goal FSDS target FSDS performance indicator FSDS performance results

Goal 7: waste and asset management

Reduce waste generated, and minimize the environmental impacts of assets throughout their life cycle.

Target 7.2: green procurement

As of April 1, 2014, the Government of Canada will continue to take action to embed environmental considerations into public procurement, in accordance with the federal Policy on Green Procurement.

Departmental approach to further the implementation of the Policy on Green Procurement in place as of April 1, 2014. Departmental approach to further the implementation of the Policy on Green Procurement was put in place as of March 31, 2014.
Number and percentage of procurement and/or materiel management specialists who have completed the Canada School of Public Service Green Procurement course (C215) or equivalent, in the given fiscal year. Three or 100% of procurement specialists had previously completed the Canada School of Public Service Green Procurement Course (C215) or equivalent, in the given fiscal year.
Number and percentage of procurement managers and functional heads whose performance evaluation includes support and contribution toward green procurement, in the given fiscal year. Two or 100% of managers and functional heads of procurement and material performance evaluations include support and contribution towards green procurement.
Percentage of contracts for IT services that are consistent with environmental criteria identified in the Guidelines for Greening Services Procurement. 76.3% of contracts for IT services are consistent with environmental criteria identified in the Guidelines for Greening Service Procurement.
Percentage of functional specialists that take green procurement training within one year of hire. 100% of functional specialists in 2016–17 had taken green procurement training within one year of hire.
Percentage of green procurement staff that have green procurement objectives contained in their 2016–17 performance agreements. To ensure environmental consideration objectives for all 2016–17 fiscal year procurement activities were met, 100% of FINTRAC Procurement Officers performance agreements included green procurement objectives.
FSDS goal FSDS target FSDS Implementation strategy element or best practice FSDS performance results

Goal 7: waste and asset management

Reduce waste generated, and minimize the environmental impacts of assets throughout their life cycle.

Target 7.2: green procurement

As of April 1, 2014, the Government of Canada will continue to take action to embed environmental considerations into public procurement, in accordance with the federal Policy on Green Procurement.

7.2.1.5. Leverage common use procurement instruments where available and feasible. FINTRAC achieved this strategy element through leveraging PSPC’s various consolidated procurement instruments whenever possible in consideration of the Centre’s enhanced security requirements.

Best Practice

7.2.3. Train acquisition cardholders on green procurement.
In order to continuously achieve the Green Procurement objectives, FINTRAC continues to use an internally developed procurement training module which includes considerations for Green Procurement. This training is delivered to employees on an as needed basis. FINTRAC will continue to require that all new functional specialists take Green Procurement training within one year of hire.

Best Practice

7.2.4. Increase awareness of the Policy on Green Procurement among managers.
FINTRAC achieved this best practice by focusing on increasing awareness among procurement personnel and employees with decision-making responsibilities of the procurement options which include green procurement benefits.  Procurement Officers have been fully trained and bring this awareness to all managers in their discussions.

Implementation strategies: performance summary

No changes since last year.

Report on strategic environmental assessment

During the 2016–17 reporting cycle, FINTRAC considered the environmental effects of initiatives subject to the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals, as part of its decision-making processes. As FINTRAC did not develop any initiatives that required a Strategic Environmental Assessment, no related public statements were produced.

Back to Departmental Results Report

Date Modified:

Stratégie ministérielle de développement durable

Aperçu de l’approche du gouvernement fédéral de la promotion du développement durable

La Stratégie fédérale de développement durable (SFDD) 2013-2016 présente les activités de développement durable du gouvernement du Canada, comme l’exige la Loi fédérale sur le développement durable (LFDD). Conformément aux objectifs de la LFDD, lesquels consistent à rendre le processus décisionnel en matière d’environnement plus transparent et à faire en sorte qu’il y ait reddition de compte à ce sujet devant le Parlement, le Centre d'analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada (CANAFE) appuie la mise en œuvre de la SFDD au moyen des activités figurant dans le présent tableau de renseignements supplémentaires.

Notre stratégie ministérielle de développement durable

La Stratégie ministérielle de développement durable présente les mesures de CANAFE à l’appui du thème IV : réduire l’empreinte environnementale, en commençant par le gouvernement. Le rapport de 2016-2017 présente un aperçu de haut niveau des résultats et constitue le dernier rapport lié à la SFDD 2013-2016. Le rapport de l’exercice précédent est accessible sur le site Web du ministère.

Aperçu du rendement ministériel

Thème IV : réduire l’empreinte environnementale, en commençant par le gouvernement

Dans le cadre du thème IV, CANAFE a contribué à la SFDD 2013-2016 par l’entremise stratégies de mise en œuvre pour l’objectif 7 : gestion des déchets et des biens.

Objectif de la SFDD Cible de la SFDD Indicateur de rendement de la SFDD Résultats du rendement de la SFDD

Objectif 7: gestion des déchets et des biens

Réduire les déchets générés et atténuer les impacts environnementaux des biens tout au long de leur durée de vie utile.

Cible 7.2 : achats écologiques

À compter du 1er avril 2014, le gouvernement du Canada continuera de prendre des mesures pour intégrer des facteurs environnementaux à ses achats, conformément à la Politique d’achats écologiques.

Approche ministérielle pour faire progresser la mise en œuvre de la Politique d’achats écologiques en vigueur (à compter du 1er avril 2014). CANAFE a, depuis le 31 mars 2014, adopté une approche pour assurer la progression de la mise en œuvre de la Politique d’achats écologiques.
Nombre et pourcentage de spécialistes de la gestion des achats ou du matériel qui ont terminé le cours sur les achats écologiques de l’École de la fonction publique du Canada (C215) ou l’équivalent, au cours de l’exercice visé. Trois ou la totalité des spécialistes ont terminé le cours sur les achats écologiques (C215) de l’École de la fonction publique du Canada ou l’équivalent, au cours de l’exercice visé.
Nombre et pourcentage de gestionnaires et de chefs fonctionnels chargés des achats et du matériel dont l’évaluation du rendement comprend un soutien et une participation aux achats écologiques, au cours de l’exercice visé. Deux ou la totalité des évaluations du rendement des gestionnaires et des chefs fonctionnels chargés des achats et du matériel comprennent un soutien et une participation aux achats écologiques.
Pourcentage des marchés visant les services de TI qui respectent les critères environnementaux énoncés dans les Lignes directrices concernant l'écologisation des achats de service. 76,3 % des marchés visant les services de TI respectent les critères environnementaux énoncés dans les Lignes directrices concernant l’écologisation des achats de services.
Pourcentage des spécialistes fonctionnels qui ont suivi la formation sur les achats écologiques dans l’année suivant leur embauche. En 2016-2017, la totalité des spécialistes fonctionnels avait suivi la formation sur les achats écologiques dans l’année suivant leur embauche.
Pourcentage des employés chargés des achats dont l’entente de rendement de 2016-2017 contient des objectifs liés aux achats écologiques. Afin de s’assurer d’atteindre les objectifs établis en ce qui a trait à l’intégration des facteurs environnementaux à toutes ses activités d’achat en 2016-2017, toutes les ententes de rendement des agents d’approvisionnement de CANAFE comportaient des objectifs liés aux achats écologiques.
Objectif de la SFDD Cible de la SFDD Élément ou meilleure pratique de la stratégie de mise en œuvre Résultats du rendement de la SFDD

Objectif 7: gestion des déchets et des biens

Réduire les déchets générés et atténuer les impacts environnementaux des biens tout au long de leur durée de vie utile.

Cible 7.2 : achats écologiques

À compter du 1er avril 2014, le gouvernement du Canada continuera de prendre des mesures pour intégrer des facteurs environnementaux à ses achats, conformément à la Politique d’achats écologiques.
7.2.1.5. Tirer profit des instruments d’achat d’usage courant, lorsqu’ils sont disponibles et que la chose est faisable. CANAFE a atteint l’objectif de cet élément de la stratégie en faisant appel, dans la mesure du possible, aux divers instruments d’achats regroupés de SPAC et en tenant compte de ses exigences de sécurité accrues.

Meilleure pratique

7.2.3. Former les détenteurs d’une carte d’achat sur les achats écologiques.
Afin d’atteindre les objectifs liés aux achats écologiques, CANAFE utilise de façon continue un module de formation sur les achats élaboré à l’interne qui tient compte des exigences relatives aux achats écologiques. Cette formation est offerte aux employés, selon les besoins. CANAFE continuera d’exiger que tous les nouveaux spécialistes suivent la formation sur les achats écologiques dans l’année suivant leur embauche.

Meilleure pratique

7.2.4. Accroître la sensibilisation des gestionnaires à la Politique d’achats écologiques.
CANAFE a atteint l’objectif de cette meilleure pratique en mettant l’accent sur une sensibilisation accrue du personnel chargé des achats et des employés à qui il incombe de prendre des décisions sur des solutions d’approvisionnement qui sont avantageuses pour l’environnement. Les agents d’approvisionnement ont reçu une formation complète et discutent des informations fournies lors de ces séances de sensibilisation avec tous leurs gestionnaires.

Stratégies de mise en œuvre : sommaire du rendement

Aucun changement depuis l’année dernière.

Rapport sur l’évaluation environnementale stratégique

Au cours du cycle de présentation des rapports de 2015-2016, CANAFE a tenu compte des impacts environnementaux des initiatives assujetties à la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes, dans le cadre de son processus décisionnel. Puisque CANAFE n’a pas élaboré d’initiative exigeant une évaluation environnementale stratégique, aucune déclaration publique n’a été présentée.

Retour au rapport sur les résultats ministériels

Date de modification :